Skip to main content

A Day (or Morning) in the Life of Someone Training for a Marathon

This morning I ran 6 miles and while I was running I thought it would be fun to describe a morning in the life of someone training for a marathon.

My alarm went off at 4:45 AM to meet my running buddies at 5:30 AM (yes, I know that is really early but you have to keep in mind I am running in Florida in July and the more miles you can get in before the sun comes up the better!!!).

45 minutes sounds like it would be PLENTY of time to get ready for a run, right? All you have to do is get dressed, put on your sneakers and go, right?  WRONG!

Stay with me here, my alarm goes off at 4:45 AM. I turn over and look at my clock for a few seconds and realize that I am actually up this early. Roll of out bed to splash some cold water on my face in an attempt to wake me up bit, brush my teeth and start to get dressed. Then I have to walk my dog. So I finish getting dressed and head downstairs to fill up my water bottles for my running belt. Did mentioned I wore a new pair of shoes this morning so I had to re-lace them (something I should have done last night). Now my shoes are laced and I put on my compression sleeves, socked and sneakers. Then I have to make breakfast; nothing special just some peanut butter on wheat bread. Now the tricky part, at least this morning, getting my dog in his cage. He did not want to cooperate this morning and the clock is ticking. I head out at 5:20 to make the 10-15 minute drive out east to meet up with my friends.

We start our run and I am so excited to use my new Garmin watch I bought this week. It took me a couple minutes to figure out all the bells and whistle but off we go. Now, my friends that I ran with today are WAY faster than me so I knew I would be on my own for most of the morning.

Mile 1: Sucked horribly! I HATE mile 1 every week. My body isn't warmed up yet, my calfs were hurting, my stomach was bothering me and I just wasn't feeling it.

Miles 2-3: These were pretty good and I was hitting my stride and loved looking down at my new watch to track my pace.

Mile 4: I was feeling good minus the heat and insane amount of humidity

Mile 5: I'm starting to feel it just a bit, I have my music in to give me some motivation and Josh Groan's "Where You Are" comes on and I immediately get goosebumps. There is a line in the song "and you are watching over me from up above".  I obviously take this as a sign from my mom (remember my first post, I mentioned running provided me with another connection to her which I think is so funny because for the first 26 years of my life I was not a runner and if you knew my mom she was SO NOT a runner!). After hearing that, mile 6 was pretty easy and before I knew it the run was finished.

Then as we like to end all runs...BREAKFAST!!!!

I promised in my first post I would share the good, the bad and the ugly so here it is (at least for this run).

The Good: New shoes, new watch and sign from mom

The Bad: Heat and humidity

The Ugly: MILE 1....every last step of it!!!




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Mid-Weeks

Although long weekend runs are what everyone envisions when thinking about training for a marathon, mid-week runs are something I have always struggled with. Waking up at 5:30 AM on a Saturday for a run by the ocean is a lot easier, at least for me than getting in 3 miles twice a week after working all day and doing your normal routine. That being said, the mid-weeks runs, especially in these early weeks are probably more important as this is where I will be building my cardio and just getting my body used to running again. Running is a use it or  lose it sport and since I haven't run consistently in a few years, I am back to square one with building my endurance. In addition to working on cardio, mid-week runs is a place to work on interval training to help with speed. As I mentioned, historically I have struggled with these mid-weeks but since I am, you know, running a marathon in a few months,  I needed to find a way to get these in. World of Beer has a ru...

Race Weekend - Part 2

Race Day!!! My day started at 5:30 AM with the plan to leave the hotel by 6:50 AM. My start time wasn’t until 11:00 AM so I thought we had plenty of time to get to the start line. Well, it took forever to get to the start line but it was all part of the experience I wanted. We left the hotel at 6:50 AM and walked less than a block to the subway. We took the R Train to the Staten Island Ferry. By the time we got to the ferry depot, we waited about 30 minutes before we got on. The amount of people waiting to get on the ferry was insane.     Once we got on the ferry, we took the about 30-minute ride to Staten Island. Then we needed to head with the thousands of other runners to the buses. This was the longest part of the morning. We were literally moving a couple of feet at a time and then waited. From the time we got off the ferry until we got on the bus was well over an hour. Then we took the 20-minute bus ride to the villages and corals. We finally got to ...

Race Weekend - Part 1

Well, I did it! I ran the NYC Marathon and officially checked my dream race off my bucket list. It was an unreal experience that truly exceeded all my expectations. Since I am still on a high from the whole weekend, I thought getting my thoughts on paper would be the best way to capture the experience. Friday, November 3 rd , Eliana, Nicole and I flew to NYC, checked into our hotel and headed to the race expo at Javitz Center. The race expo is the place where you pick up your running bib, get your finishers shirt and purchase any other swag you want from the race. Heading into race weekend my excitement level had been pretty low compared to previous races and I couldn’t figure out why but walking into the convention is where the excitement really kicked in. To be surrounded by thousands of runners who all have to the same goal never gets old. The energy in that rooms cannot be replicated. After we left the convention center, we walked across the street and Eliana noticed...